Username: Password:

Fine Art Possible with digital?...

MartinWoods
MartinWoods - Photographer
Photographer
United Kingdom
View Portfolio

Having recently been reading more websites and publications about fine art photography in order to broaden my knowledge I'm wondering one thing. Is it possible to produce Fine Art prints for any kind of market when using a digital camera?
I ask this becasue it seems most of the publications are aimed at the photographers using traditional techniques with film in medium or preferably large format cameras. I was never educated in using these cameras and only ever shot 35mm film before going digital. Does anyone take digital work seriously in the gallery and print collectors world? I have no experience of wither but would like to have in the future. A lot of the photographers whose work I like most are using medium/large format film. Should I give up with digital, go to school and learn the other formats or plod away with what I'm doing in the hope that someday I will amass a body of work I can think about exhibiting.
I know there are many questions here, and believe me I have more in my head. If you have any answers then please share them.
Woody

Posted at 10:50 AM on Oct 12, 2008

McGowanPhoto
McGowanPhoto - Photographer
Photographer
Arizona, United States
View Portfolio

My experience is that there are two pretty much parallel schools of thought on this.

One is that the fine art has to be from old technologies. It's the same thought process that made etchings art once they stopped being used for newspaper, magazine and book reproduction.

The other is that digital photography is just another medium to produce art. The shows I've had at the Butler Institute of American Art were totally digital, and the museum has actively sought out digital artists off all sorts.